Why have PTLLS, CTLLS and DTLLS been replaced? | | - | Footstep Training

We have all heard the rumors that PTLLS and its close friends CTLLS and DTLLS have been replaced. But, what has happened and why?

An independent review was completed that was commissioned by the government, and it was suggested that simplification of in-service teaching qualifications took place and this has now been agreed.

The aim is to simplify the levels and names of the qualifications to clarify their appropriateness , relevance, and recognition.

The PTLLS, CTLLS and DTLLS qualifications will be available to register on to, up until August 2015, but the new replacement is available to some Awarding Bodies from September 2013.

This means that students and providers can continue to register students onto the existing qualifications up until August 2015. So no need to panic. Phew!

Ultimately, the credit value, learning hours, and the majority of the content is the same, but the titles of the qualifications have changed.

The new qualifications will be known as:

  • Level 3 Award in Education and Training
  • Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training
  • Level 5 Diploma  in Education and Training

Footstep Training is offering the new qualifications, so sign up now to gain the latest teaching qualification or take a look at the courses in more detail.



Sign up to our blog updates here to receive regular updates and tips on the education and training.

Approved with: